to noon and 1 to 4 p.m. Monday, April 24, at La Salle County Health Department, 717 E. Etna Road, Ottawa. A Paediatric First Aid Training dozen spots are available per class. The training is a video-based, instructor-led course that teaches students critical skills to respond to and manage an emergency in the first few minutes until emergency medical services arrive. Students will learn duties and responsibilities of first aid rescuers; first aid actions for medical emergencies, including severe choking, heart attack, and stroke; and skills for handling injury and environmental emergencies, including external bleeding, broken bones and sprains, and bites and stings. There will be a $4 charge for an E-Card that will be emailed to participants following the training or a $4.25 charge for a paper card that will be mailed out after the training. It's recommended to register by Sunday, April 23, at lasallecountymrc.org or call 815-433-3366, ext. 227. Tags
That answer is yes. We found a list of 14 states with laws about helping choking victims. The list comes from Connecticuts Office of Legislative Research. States across the county have these kinds of agencies. Their jobs are to provide analysis, research, and advice to lawmakers. Some states on the list like Arkansas and Florida require restaurants hang posters that illustrate how to perform the Heimlich maneuver or what the Red Cross calls the abdominal thrust procedure. Texas requires its posters to be in both English and Spanish. And Oregon, which is where Voodoo Donuts originated, requires business owners to train all food service employees in the Red Cross technique within a reasonable time after date of employment. Its important to note that these states also have liability laws on their books. These laws shield employees from lawsuits if they injure a choking customer while trying to help. So, does Colorado have a law like this?